Home page
Our host
Our team
Our advisors
Our founder
Visitors gallery
Artists in concert
The competition
The Prizes
How to enter
dates and fees
Competition rounds
Competition guidelines
Our Jury
20 and over Entry Form
13 to 19 senior entry form
12 years and under Junior entry form
Our Sponsors
News and latest updates
Where - Groot Constantia
Contact us

Competition Jury
The Avril Kinsey Classical Guitar Competition Jury comprises 2 International, and 4 South African adjudicators, one of whom is not a guitarist

Dr Gregory Newton Dr Gregory Newton (USA)
For more biographical information, click here to visit the artists in concert page.
David Grimes David Grimes (USA)
For more biographical information, click here to visit the artists in concert page.
Tessa Ziegler Tessa Ziegler
For more biographical information, click here to visit the artists in concert page.
Dr Rudi Bower Dr Rudi Bower
Well known South African guitarist and musicologist Dr Rudi Bower has performed extensively throughout South Africa and abroad. In 2000 he became the only guitarist selected to compete in the prestigious UNISA overseas music scholarship competition after obtaining his Licentiate cum laude. Since then he has appeared as soloist in a number of concertos including Rodrigo’s ‘Fantasia para un Gentilhombre’, Giuliani’s Guitar Concerto in A, Vivaldi’s concerto’s in A major and G major, Tirao’s ‘Conciertango Buenos Aires’ and a Bolling concerto. In 2008 he obtained his D Phil in musicology at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University where he has been lecturing in guitar, music history and theory for the past eight years.
Dr Hendrik Hofmeyr
(Associate Professor and Concert Organizer, UCT)
With more than 80 commissions to his credit, Hendrik Hofmeyr is one of South Africa’s most sought-after composers. He has won a number of competitions, including the S.A. Opera Competition, the Queen Elisabeth (Belgium) and the Dimitri Mitropoulos (Greece). Hofmeyr, who was honoured with a Kanna Award by the Kleinkaroo National Arts Festival in 2008, is currently professor at the University of Cape Town, from which he received a Doctorate in 1999.
Abri Jordaan Abri Jordaan
Consummate composer and performer, Abri Jordaan has been a lecturer at the University of Pretoria since 1982, where he recently started a post graduate program.

Abri has set the syllabi for various institutions as well as for the Concours Pan Afrique international Guitar Competition. As part of the guitar duo Abryvon (with Belgian guitarist Yvon Syx), he toured extensively and played with the Rosamunde Quartet and performed the Giuliani Concerto Opus 30 with the Orchestra of the University of Pretoria, as well as the Artium orchestra.

Abri regularly brings overseas artists to South Africa for concerts and master classes, and was invited twice to the Amsterdam Guitar Festival. In 2006 he went to the Juan José Castro Conservatoire in Buenos Aires to do research on teaching methods. His own compositions continue to receive excellent reviews in local as well as international magazines.
Uliano Marchio Uliano Marchio
Founded the guitar department at the S.A. College of Music (U.C.T.) in 1967 where he taught till 1983.

After concertising and teaching in Europe and the Middle East for 20 years, Uliano is now back in Cape Town and teaches at Westerford High School and the Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre.

  • Additional jury of no less than 3 may be included at the discretion of the Director who retains rights regarding entries, the first round of the competition, final adjudication and safety.
  • The jury Chairman reserves the right to stop any performances exceeding the time limits
  • Candidates will be notified of their success to the next round directly after the adjudication
  • The jury’s decision is based on technique, tone, accuracy, musicianship, choice of repertoire/stage presence, and will be final, with the right to grant or withhold any award
  • All judge’s individual scores are confidential and no correspondence will be entered into
  • The 2011 competition jury comprises: Dr Gregory Newton (USA), David Grimes (USA), Dr Hendrik Hofmeyr (SA), Tessa Ziegler (SA), Abri Jordaan (SA), Dr Rudi Bower (SA) and Abri Jordaan (SA).